The Smiths Educational Award

The Smiths Medical Canada Educational Awards have been established to provide funds ($1000.00 each) to assist critical care nurses to attend continuing education programs at the baccalaureate, masters and doctorate levels. 


Award Funds Available           Two awards annually  - $ 1000.00 

Deadline for Submission       January 31 and September 1 

Send applications to CACCN National Office at or fax to 519-649-1458 or 
Mail to:   CACCN, P. O. Box # 25322, London, ON, N6C 6B1
Mailed applications must be postmarked on or before January 31 or September 1

Download Criteria

Download Application:   word     

Eligibility Criteria:

The applicant must:

  • be an active member of the Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses for a minimum of one (1) year. 
  • be accepted to an accredited continuing education program relevant to the practice, administration, teaching and research of critical care nursing. 
  • has not been the recipient of this award in the past two years. 

Application process

  • Submit a completed Smiths Medical Canada Educational Award application  including all required documentation
  • Submit a letter of reference from current employer. 
  • Incomplete applications will not be considered
  • Presentations considered for merit points are those that are not prepared as part of your regular employment role / responsibilities  -  oral and poster presentations will be considered.  

Selection Process:

  • CACCN reserves the right to withhold the award if no candidate meets the criteria.
  • The successful candidate will be notified via email and regular mail.
  • The successful candidate will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony at the Dynamics of Critical Care Conference (annually in September);
  • The successful candidates name/photograph will be published in Dynamics, Journal of the Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses (Winter edition);
  • Current members of the National Board of Directors are not eligible.

The Board of Directors of the Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses & Smiths Medical Canada retain the right to amend the award criteria.    

Smiths Medical Canada Educational Award
Content Revision:  March 2014